Personal Property Taxes

All cities and counties in Virginia have a personal property tax. The City of Poquoson taxes cars, trucks, buses, motorcycles, motor homes, trailers, semi-trailers, and boats. This tax is assessed by the Commissioner of the Revenue while taxes are paid to the Treasurer.

Vehicles That May Be Taxed in Poquoson
Vehicles registered in the City of Poquoson will be taxed. Vehicles not registered with Virginia State Department of Motor Vehicles or the City of Poquoson are also subject to tax if the vehicle is normally garaged, stored, or parked in Poquoson, with the exception of those exempted by law.

Virginia personal property tax is assessed by the Commissioner of the Revenue. Assessments are based on the average value of similar vehicles as listed in pricing guides such as the N.A.D.A. (National Automobile Dealers Association) used car guide. Personal property tax rates are set annually by the City Council as part of the budget process.

Due Dates
Bills on vehicle tax accounts for the first half of the calendar year are due June 5. Tax bills for the second half are due December 5. Personal property tax bills are applicable to the calendar year in which issued, or on a pro-rated portion of that year. The current rate is $4.15 per $100 of the assessed value.

Late Payments
There is a penalty required by the Virginia State Tax Code for late payment of taxes. Under existing law, a 2% penalty will apply for payments which are received late, but still within the same month the tax is due. The penalty will increase to 10% or minimum of $10, whichever is greater (but not to exceed the tax), on the first day of the month following the tax due date. Additionally, interest at 10% per annum calculated monthly, will be added after the due date.

If You Do Not Receive a Personal Property Tax Bill
Anyone who owns personal property or acquires additional personal property should receive a tax bill approximately four weeks prior to the June 5 due date and by mid-October for the December 5 due date. If you do not receive a bill, contact the Treasurer's Office before the due date at 757-868-3015. The appropriate information can be given over the telephone. It is preferable, but not necessary to have the bill or a copy of the bill in order to make payment.

Virginia law requires that the Treasurer mail bills for taxes due at least 2 weeks prior to the due date. If a bill is not delivered on time, the taxpayer is not relieved of the penalty and interest charge required by law for the late payment. This is true whether the cause is Post Office error, a mistake in address information at the Treasurer's Office or any other such case. The law is clear that the taxpayer is required to know the due date, to determine the amount owed and to pay it on time, even when a bill is not received by the taxpayer.

Check Your Tax Bill Carefully
You must report all errors that appear on your tax bill to the Commission of the Revenue. That office is responsible for the assessment of tax and is the only office that can correct errors on tax assessments.